Boxing, MARTA & Work

I’m back in the gym to resume my training! Almost two weeks after my minor foot surgery, I decided that it was time to get boxing. My foot disagreed with me, though, as the first couple of days back were rather painful. Now it’s been almost three weeks since surgery and I can both walk and box without pain.

It was a rough first week back. Monday through Wednesday, my body was sore sore sore. All of me was exhausted by Wednesday night and it was all I could do to keep my head up. Thursday night’s workout was better. My muscles were still sore, but I didn’t feel like a boulder trying to swim. Once my body adjusts, it’ll be better.

Muscle soreness aside, there’s a new factor that made my week more tiresome: public transportation. We’re training in a new (temporary) location that is way on the other side of town. Depending on the day, it takes me 1-2 hours to get there—one way. Fortunately, I’ve gotten rides home at night. (Bless you, dear friends.) I’ve never been one to bash MARTA, but it just takes so long to get anywhere. It leaves me no time between work and boxing. Each day this week except for Friday, I left home around 6:45 am and got back in at 8/9/10 pm. Once home, I showered as quickly as I could and fell into bed. No time for watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer, which is unfortunate. (I’m a late-comer to the series—just started season three.)

I can stand this schedule for two reasons:

  1. I’d rather be boxing than not.
  2. It’s temporary. I’m taking driving lessons to get my license and I plan to buy a car very soon. I’ve had it with bicycling, walking, taking trains, riding buses and begging for rides.

Despite the incredible waste of time in transit, the bottom line is that I’m just plain excited to be back to boxing. Granted, I’m not getting much done during the week, which means I’ll need to work a little more on weekends.

Speaking of work. Do you remember when I freaked out about my job last year? After a difficult first year of teaching, I couldn’t decide what to do. Try another year in Pre-K? Move to an older grade? Leave teaching all together? I spent so much time and energy worrying about this that it drove me crazy. I finally decided to stay in the same grade at the same school. I knew that the first years of teaching are hard, so I decided to stick with it.

Well, another year has almost gone. Though the second year has been better than the first in some ways, I submitted my letter of resignation this week. This time around, I made my decision without wasting precious energy fretting and worrying about “what if” scenarios. I considered where I am now and where I want to be, and found that the two wouldn’t connect.

  • This school, which serves infants through Pre-K, is not the right fit for me. I’ve always imagined myself working in a traditional elementary school setting, and when I was in college I had my sights set on teaching 1st grade. Pre-K students are absolutely precious, but I think I’ll do better with older kids.
  • Though it’s meant to give educators constructive feedback and encourage growth, I have to say that I’ve found the process of being observed and evaluated very discouraging. Of course, I may feel the same way in any other school. That’s part of why I will also look for non-teaching jobs, in addition to filling out teaching applications.
  • I’m taking my life in a new direction. While I may stay in regular full-time teaching, I am also considering other options. Substitute teaching for a while? Maybe work in a half-day Pre-K program at an alternative school? Go back to school for special ed certification? Who knows? I sure don’t, yet, but I’m not worried anymore.

May 29th will be my last day of work. As weird as it is to not have a clue what I’ll be doing after that other than boxing, it’s exciting. There are so many possibilities—overwhelmingly many, actually. I’m looking forward to finding out what I’ll do next.

photo credit

Leave a Comment

