Post-Fight Gore

It’s been a really long time since I’ve been in the gym. Remember how I was sick? I’m not sick anymore! (Finally.) Remember how I was resting for a fight? The fight’s over, but I’m still laying around at home. Why? Because I’m an invalid: I have a post-op shoe to prove it.

I’ve had a plantar wart on the bottom of my right foot for a while. It first became painful before ACFN 5, so I started applying an over-the-counter acid solution. I also tried duct tape. (I love duct tape.) I self-doctored the wart for months, but couldn’t get rid of it. When I gave up on the home remedies, I was in training for this most recent fight. I set up an appointment for four days after ACFN 6. With our transition to a new gym and the resting period while I was sick, I figured it was a good time to get ‘er done. I told the doctor I wanted to get the painful little thing removed as soon as possible, so he scheduled the surgery for this past Monday.

Even though I had this procedure done as a kid (removing two warts from the same foot without twilight sleep = more pain), I was nervous about it. I had a dream that they drilled a 3″-deep hole into my foot while I was asleep. I also dreaded having to stay home from the gym, but knew it would be worth it to be able to walk (and box) without that little twinge under my foot. As part of my prep for surgery, a nurse asked me which foot the wart was on. “Right,” I said. She checked it to make sure, and then wrote “YES” on my right ankle and “NO” on my left ankle, which I thought was hilarious. She had me initial them to show that I agreed.

"Yes," operate on this foot (right). "No," don't touch that one (left)! I had to initial them to show that I agreed.

“Yes,” operate on this foot. “No,” don’t touch that one!

I’m glad my doctor didn’t try to remove anything from the wartless foot! I came home with a numb right foot and started taking my pain medication and anti-inflammatory pills. The pain med made me queasy, but I stuck with it for a while. (I was told to be on it while my foot “woke up.”) I spent the rest of the day on the couch with my foot in the air.

I took Tuesday off work. The day started when I got out of bed and threw up. “No more painkillers for me!” My foot started hurting more as the day went on, but it wasn’t bad—especially compared to feeling sick to the stomach. I spent this day with my foot sticking up, too. My mom, my grandma and my trainer all called to make sure that I was doing alright.

That evening, about 36 hours after surgery, my instructions were to take a shower. Get the bandages nice and wet, then change them for the first time. I was nervous about this, but it ended up not hurting. It was a slight disappointment that the wound wasn’t as gory as I expected it to be:

This is about a day and a half after the surgery. The first time I was allowed to shower and change the bandage.

The ring around the edge is just dried blood; only the circle in the middle is the wound. You can’t tell because of the lighting, but it was bright red.

This picture is to balance out the lovey-dovey stuff I posted a few days ago. :)

I returned to work on Wednesday, wearing my post-op shoe and keeping my weight on my right heel. The nurses said I’d heal quickly—maybe even before my post-op appointment next week. I hope so! For now, I’m changing the bandage daily, keeping the wound moist with salvey stuff they gave me and staying off my feet as much as I can. My students don’t mind, because they like helping out. They were also very curious, so I did a show and tell all about my foot, the procedure and my special new shoe.

As soon as I’m all healed up, I’ll be back in the gym. I can’t wait!

3 responses to “Post-Fight Gore

  1. Krya på dig!

  2. Pingback: Boxing, MARTA & Work | Road to Fight Night

Leave a Comment

