10 Days to Go!

As I was catching up on blog-related notifications this evening, I happened to look over at the sidebar to see this:

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 10.22.02 PM

Up until now, I’ve been counting down to the show using weeks: “Three weeks left, to the day!” “Two weeks from tomorrow!” A week is about to be too big of a unit, as we drop into the remaining single-digit days. In no time, we’ll be getting this show on the road.

I love the atmosphere in the gym right now, as several of us are training for ACFN 6 together. Believe you me, we’re working hard in there. The final stages of preparation are upon us, consisting of sparring (much like last time) and then resting (also like last time). What is different for me at this particular stage is my mental state. That, and the fact that I’ve improved a lot in the last six months. But really, the mental game is more important for me right now.

Last time, I doubted myself way before I ever stepped into the ring, without even noticing that I was doing it. I figured I had good confidence because I told myself things like: “I’m going to win!” However, I undermined fluffy statements like that by repeating other things to myself while working out: “I just can’t land a clean punch” or “I’m too tired” or “I always freeze up.” Newsflash: I don’t have to freeze up, but I probably will if I’ve already surrendered to that tendency. (Does that make sense? It makes perfect sense to me—now.) Last time, I thought I had great confidence. Then the first bell rang on Fight Night… and things went downhill from there.

Right now, at the beginning of the last week of training (wow), I have to say that I feel pretty darn good. I’m excited. I’m working hard and enjoying it. Today, I sparred a mediocre couple of rounds because I kept looking away as I slipped punches, which kept me from seeing the follow-up punches. But you know what? I’ll go back in tomorrow, sharper and eyes wide open.

I’m bringing my A game to this show. Not because I mistakenly think I’m the world’s best boxer, but because I know that I can stay relaxed and go in there with the confidence to do what I do every day in training. (Which is cut lips and make noses bleed. Ha, ha! Okay, so I’m exaggerating—that doesn’t happen every day. But they did both happen last week.) I’m not underestimating my opponent or the pressure of the show, but I’m sure as heck not going to underestimate myself, either.

Let’s do this. If you haven’t bought your tickets, you can snag some online or ask me about hard copy tickets (cash or check made out to “Atlanta Corporate Fight Night”). I’m carrying around $25 and $50 tickets, but I can get the snazzier ones from my trainer if you ask me. I’d love to see you there!

5 responses to “10 Days to Go!

  1. Woohoo! Sounds like you’re better prepared this time around!

  2. Pingback: Weighing In: About to Pop | Road to Fight Night

  3. You made me think of the following: “As he thinks, so he is; as he continues to think, so he remains.” ― James Allen, As a Man Thinketh
    The mental part IS important. Sounds like you have improved both there and physically/technically.

Leave a Comment

