The Weigh-In

The weigh-in was on June 6th at 4 pm, the day before ACFN 5. Leading up to then, I was trying to lose weight and my opponent was trying to gain weight. We had to be within 8 pounds of each other in order to fight, so we both did our best. We ended up weighing in at a pound apart: she was 127 and I was 126. The man who checked my weight told me: “I’ve had a sandwich that weighed as much as you.”

Severscaleal weeks before the weigh-in, I weighed 144 pounds with my workout clothes on. “Dang, I didn’t know you were that heavy!” said my trainer. Thus she put me on a diet, and I lost almost 20 pounds. From that point until the weigh-in, I ate raw fruits and veggies, and meat only before 2 pm. I did a fair bit of cheating, because I could get away with it, but for the most part I ate clean. I’m pretty proud of the weight I lost. I’m almost back to where I was before I went to college.

The day of the weigh-in, I didn’t eat or drink anything. My opponent, on the other hand, ate and chugged water like a fiend. The hunger didn’t bother me so much, but I felt like I was dying of thirst. After hitting the scale, I had a yummy dinner (chicken quesadilla) washed down with a lotof water and a slice of cake. I went home feeling like I was about to burst. My orders were to continue drinking water until I arrived at the venue the next day.

Going home from the weigh-in, I was super excited about my fight the next day. I didn’t feel nervous yet, either (and wondered if there were something wrong with me).

A note about boxing shoes: up until this point, I still hadn’t gotten a pair of boxing shoes. I had ordered a pair from Title that were size 7. I didn’t realize that these were men’s sizes. So I ordered a pair that were size 6. Still too big. On the day of the weigh-in, my size 5 shoes arrived–and they were too small. D’oh! Starting to panic, I ran out the door to catch the next MARTA bus and head for the mall.

my God shoes

This is the picture I sent to Terri to make sure these shoes would work.

I walked into Footlocker. “Do you have any boxing or wrestling shoes?” “No,” the lady said, “but try Play It Again. They might have some.” I doubted that they would, because Play It Again sells used items that people bring in. If the regular store didn’t have boxing shoes, why would a store with a smaller selection? Nevertheless, I went into Play It Again and asked the same question. “Yeah, I think we have a couple pairs,” I was told. There were three pairs of wrestling shoes: two size 9s and one junior size 6. I held my breath as I tried on the size 6. It fit! Even better, it was on sale–50% off. They were even comfortable. I promptly paid for the shoes and headed to the weigh-in with a feeling of relief. Whew! I now refer to these as my “God shoes” because it was really lucky that I found them.

Another note: I’m working on a post about the actual fight night. It was a big thing for me that I’m still thinking about and taking my time with.

photo credit

4 responses to “The Weigh-In

  1. When I was your age, I surprised people with my weight, too. :-) I’m proud of you, Kelsey! Maybe we shouldn’t have anything chicken pot pie-ey or sweet potato sugary? Don’t want to be a source of sabotage. ;-)

  2. Don’t be silly! Thanks for cooking for me this summer. :D

  3. Pingback: Atlanta Corporate Fight Night 5 | Road to Fight Night

  4. Pingback: Paul Murphy Boxing Club Title Belt Tournament 2012 (Part 1/3) | Road to Fight Night

Leave a Comment

