Resting Up

When I left the gym on Saturday, my orders were to rest with my feet up for the next three days. I took those instructions to heart! I’ve barely moved since then, and I don’t feel bad about it. Usually I would feel guilty for not being productive, but this time I’ve enjoyed the freedom of doing whatever I want (or not doing anything I don’t want to). I’m lucky in that these days of rest coincided with the beginning of my summer break from teaching, so I really had no obligations at all.

I’ve read a few books, played many games of Minesweeper (even beat the expert level twice) and eaten a lot of fruit. I’m not usually a big napper, but I have taken naps and slept in, while still going to bed relatively early. Other than taking short walks to the post office, dumpster and laundry, I stayed in. I’m a homebody, so this was paradise!

relaxing

Don’t worry–I have not turned into jelly. (Surprisingly enough.) Before taking this break, I was wondering if I would drive myself crazy thinking about the upcoming fight while not being able to train, but that hasn’t been the case. I’ve certainly been thinking about boxing, though, to the point that I read without knowing what I’ve read. I can’t help thinking about different punches and combinations. Let’s get this show on the road!

photo credit

4 responses to “Resting Up

  1. Go Kelsey! Go Kelsey! Go Kelsey! *doing the Go Kelsey! dance*

  2. I hope you have an awesome experience, Kelsey! Can’t wait to hear about it.

  3. Heehee, Mom, I want to see this dance!

    Lisa, I DID have an awesome experience, though it took me forever to post about it… I just finished the post and will put it up tomorrow after I proofread it.

  4. Pingback: 10 Days to Go! | Road to Fight Night

Leave a Comment

